What's this?   |   Forgot Password?   |   Sign Up   |   Login
Clare Cox earned second team all-SoCon honors after winning 10 matches at No. 1 singles this year.
Courtesy: Tyler Buckwell
Clare Cox Named Second Team All-SoCon
Courtesy: Appalachian State Sports Information
Release: Monday 04/14/2014 (ET)
Related Links

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – Appalachian State University women's tennis sophomore Clare Cox was named as a second team all-Southern Conference selection, the league office announced on Monday.

Cox finished the season with a record of 10-11 at the No. 1 spot in singles play, which included a 5-4 mark against SoCon opponents. She also went 8-11 in doubles play while playing most of the season at the No. 2 spot in the lineup.

The Greensboro, N.C. native earned SoCon Player of the Week honors for the week of March 31-April 6 and ended the year on a four-match win streak in singles while taking four-of-five doubles matches to close out the regular season. She is 25-19 in singles play in her first two years as a Mountaineer and was the 2013 SoCon Freshman of the Year after finishing 15-8 a season ago.

Cox and the Mountaineers (8-15, 3-6 SoCon) enter the 2014 SoCon Tournament as the No. 7 seed and will take on No. 10 Western Carolina at 3 p.m. on Wednesday from the Champions Club in Chattanooga, Tenn.

2014 SoCon Women's Tennis Postseason Awards

First Team
Brites Moniz-Soares, Davidson
Jordan Johnston, Elon
Ansley Speaks, Furman
Stephanie N’tcha, Samford
Kayla Jones, Chattanooga
Stacia Kissell, Western Carolina

Katherine Oudin/Alex Moreno-Kaste, Furman
Stephanie N’tcha/Kristen Lewis, Samford
Kaylene Chadwell/Alexa Flynn, Chattanooga

Second Team
Singles (by position)
No. 1 – Clare Cox, Appalachian State

No. 2 – Frida Jansaker, Elon
No. 3 – Yasmeen Ebada, Samford
No. 4 – Bryn Khoury, Elon
No. 5 – Emily Mallory, Samford
No. 6 – Blair Martin, Furman

Doubles (by position)
No. 1 – Jordan Johnston/Barbora Lazarova, Elon
No. 2 – Blair Martin/Ansley Speaks, Furman
No. 3 – Kelsey Coots/Claire Mulyadi, Chattanooga

Karlee Bryde, Furman
Ansley Speaks, Furman
Blair Martin, Furman
Giulia Riepe, Georgia Southern
Yasmin Franco, UNCG
Lauren Caballero, Samford

Player of the Year
Ansley Speaks, Furman

Freshman of the Year
Ansley Speaks, Furman

Sportsmanship Award
Audrey Coventry, Wofford

Coach of the Year
Debbie Southern, Furman

< Back