What's this?   |   Forgot Password?   |   Sign Up   |   Login
As the Mountaineers' No. 1 doubles pair, Zach Bost and Sebastien King were named to the all-conference first team for Appalachian's third consecutive selection.
Courtesy: Appalachian State Athletics
Bost, King Earn All-Conference Nods
Courtesy: Appalachian State Sports Information
Release: Tuesday 04/16/2013 (ET)
Related Links

BOONE, N.C. – Appalachian State men's tennis placed two players on the Southern Conference’s all-conference team, as voted on by the league’s coaches and announced by the league office on Tuesday, April 16.

Appalachian's top duo, Sebastien King and Zach Bost, earned first team all-SoCon honors after leading the Mountaineers' doubles efforts to finish out the season at 7-8 overall and 6-4 in the SoCon.

While the conference honor is a first for freshman Bost, it is the second-straight selection for King, who was named to the 2012 doubles all-conference team.

The doubles pair scored conference victories over a No. 74-ranked Samford, as well as SoCon champion College of Charleston and standout Furman. Together, Bost and King, finished ranked eighth among the SoCon's overall No. 1 doubles leaders (7-8, .467), and third in the conference-only list (6-4, .600). 

With the selections of Bost and King to the doubles all-conference team, Appalachian State has seen eleven different players selected to seven all-SoCon doubles teams.

SoCon champion College of Charleston earned a pair of all-conference selections, while Elon's Michael Leonard was named SoCon Coach of the Year.

Appalachian State faces Furman in the first round of the 2013 Southern Conference Tennis Championships at 9 a.m. on Thursday, April 18.

2013 SoCon Men’s Tennis Postseason Awards

First Team
Cameron Silverman, Elon
Andrew Mellow, Furman
Andrew Dromsky, Georgia Southern
Ahmet Sarioglu, UNCG
Zac Dunkle, Samford
Manuel Barroetavena, Chattanooga

Zach Bost/Sebastien King, APP
Cameron Silverman/Stefan Fortmann, Elon
James Dougherty/Randy Phillips, UNCG

 Second Team
Singles (by position)
No. 1 – Rob Galloway, Wofford
No. 2 – Rayane Djouad, Georgia Southern
No. 3 – Fares Kilani, Samford
No. 4 – Randy Phillips, UNCG
No. 5 – Austin Akers, Samford
No. 6 – Zack Lewis, College of Charleston

Doubles (by position)
No. 1 – Chris Mark/Kevin Moore, Davidson
              Ankit Chopra/Roberto Vieira, Chattanooga
No. 2 – Daniel Mack/Ahmet Sarioglu, UNCG
No. 3 – Jordan Kaufman, Juan Madrid, Elon

Zack Lewis, College of Charleston
Robert Lindgren, Elon
Matt Browne, Furman
Rayane Djouad, Georgia Southern
James Dougherty, UNCG
Fares Kilani, Samford

Player of the Year
Cameron Silverman, Elon

Freshman of the Year
Rayane Djouad, Georgia Southern

Don Bunch/Buddy Hartsell Sportsmanship Award
Joe Schafer, Davidson

Coach of the Year
Michael Leonard, Elon

< Back