What's this?   |   Forgot Password?   |   Sign Up   |   Login
Distinguished Service Award recipient Mark Harrill and Coleman Lew Leadership Award winners Nadia Liriano and Terrance McLean will be recognized at the SoCon Honors Dinner on Wednesday evening in Charleston, S.C.
Courtesy: Appalachian State Athletics
SoCon Names Service, Leadership Award Winners
Courtesy: Appalachian State Sports Information
Release: Wednesday 06/01/2011 (ET)
Related Links
BOONE, N.C. — The Southern Conference announced recipients of its Distinguished Service and Coleman Lew Leadership awards on Wednesday. Longtime supporter Mark Harrill is Appalachian’s Distinguished Service Award recipient and women’s track and field’s Nadia Liriano and football’s Terrance McLean received the SoCon’s Coleman Lew Leadership Awards.

A successful real estate developer in the High Country, Harrill and his family have generously supported Mountaineer athletics for many years. In addition to being a longtime member of the Yosef Club, the Harrills have also contributed to a wide array of special projects within the ASU athletics department, including the Facilities Enhancement Campaign. More importantly, Mark also serves as a mentor to coaches and students, making an effort to help mold, teach and change the lives of the staff and students through his words and by example.

The SoCon’s Distinguished Service Award program was started in 2002 as a way for the conference to recognize those individuals from its member institutions who have contributed to all aspects of the University.

Liriano, who helped the Mountaineers to indoor and outdoor conference championships in 2009 and 2011, is a team leader on and off the track. This past season, she was a member of ASU’s third-place 4x400-meter relay team and placed seventh individually in the 400-meter dash at the SoCon Indoor Championships and in 2009, she set an ASU Holmes Center record with a 40.44-second 300-meter dash. Away from competition, she is a member of Appalachian’s U.S. Army ROTC, the ASU Student-Athlete Advisory Board (SAAB), Fellowship of Christian Athletes and participated in the 2010 NCAA Student-Athlete Leadership Forum. The education major, who aspires to teach in an inner-city school system, also serves as a math tutor in ASU’s Learning Assistance Program and has worked with elementary school students in the Watauga and Charlotte-Mecklenburg school districts.

McLean, who has been a key special-teams contributor on the Mountaineers’ last three SoCon championship squads, is also a campus leader. The architecture and construction management major is a member of the SoCon and ASU academic honor rolls, Omicron Delta Kappa national leadership honorary and a student chair representative on Appalachian’s Board of Academic Integrity. He also serves as an undergraduate leader for ASU student orientation and AppolCorp, which welcomes parents and new students to campus on move-in weekend, is a member of SAAB, served on the search committee for a new Learning Assistance Program director and represented Appalachian at the 2009 Winston-Salem College and Career Programming Convention.

The Coleman Lew Leadership Award recognizes student-athletes from each of the conference’s 12 member institutions. Coaches, faculty athletic representatives and senior woman administrators nominate prospective candidates based on leadership, academic excellence and athletic achievement in both the college environment and the community. Athletic directors and representatives from Coleman Lew & Associates conducted one-on-one interviews with the finalists before determining the award winners.

Harrill, Liriano and McLean will be recognized at the annual SoCon Honors Dinner on Wednesday evening in Charleston, S.C.

< Back