The SAAC mission is to enhance the total student-athlete experience by promoting opportunity, protecting student-athlete welfare and fostering a positive image. This is achieved through provided community service opportunities and campus activism for all varsity student-athletes, voting on National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) and athletic conference legislation, and being the voice of varsity student-athletes on campus.


Stanley Broaden

Vice President
External Operations
Zach Bost

Vice President
Internal Operations
Emily Corrigan
Student-Athlete Advisory Committee team representatives are determined and appointed by each respective intercollegiate team at Appalachian State. In addition to attending bi-weekly meetings, SAAC representatives are responsible for communicating SAAC developments and opportunities to their teammates on an ongoing basis. Representatives for the 2014-2015 year include:
Team SAAC Representatives
Baseball Noah Holmes and Caleb McCann
Men's Basketball Landon Goesling and Griffin Kinney
Women's Basketball Katie Mallow and Farrahn Wood
Field Hockey Laura Malinoski and Dana Wetmore
Football Malachi Jones, Brandon McGowan and Doug Middleton
Men's Golf Dustin Abele and Eric Eberspeaker
Women's Golf Lily Yatawara and Haley Zagoria
Men's Soccer Patrick Harrow and Mason McCarter
Women's Soccer Julia Holz and Nicole Steyl
Softball Ashley Seering and Kristen Terry
Men's Tennis Zach Bost and Robert Jenkins
Women's Tennis Mackenzie LaSure and Gabrielle Wreder
Men's Track & Field/Cross Country Stanley Broaden, Kyle McFoy, Peter Ovendorf and Raphael Rojas
Women's Track & Field/Cross Country Mallary Price, Taryn Stern, Brianna Tate and Janet Watson
Volleyball Emily Corrigan and Sloan Evans
Wrestling Heath Gleaton and Tyler Radford
Athletic Training Amanda Jackson and Jill Wagers